Alice: You know that stuff they’re selling now at the local shop?
Geraldine:Which stuff?
Alice: I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.
Geraldine: Oh yes
Alice: Well, I can’t believe it’s not butter.
Geraldine: Yeah, well I believe that is the idea, yeah.
Alice: Then yesterday, I went to Crookenden and I bought this other stuff, like a sort of home-brand, you know?
Geraldine: Yes…
Alice: And you know, I can’t believe it’s not I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter
Geraldine: Mmm. I’m losing you now.
Alice: Well, you know I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter?
Geraldine: Yeah, you think it is butter.
Alice: No no, I mean you know the stuff that I can’t believe is not butter is called I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.
Geraldine: Probably, yeah, yeah<
Alice: Well I can’t believe the stuff that is not I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is not I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and I can’t believe that both I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and the stuff that I can’t believe is not I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter are both, in fact, not butter. And I believe they both might be butter, in a cunning disguise. And in fact there’s a lot more butter around than we all thought there was.
Geraldine: Yeah. You see, I don’t know what you’re talking about.

 

From ‘The Vicar of Dibley’