A really really long time I got my heart broken and it coincided with a lot of singing classes at my college. I happened to find a solo ballad song I liked, suited my voice and I could act my ass off doing, at precisely the same time. It turned out I didn’t have to act so much as just sing out all my feelings about my broken heart, hopes for mine and his futures, thanks for time well spent together, and discovering love.

I re-found this song a couple of days ago and couldn’t help but remember how much this song means to me, on more levels than I can explain. It’s also the only song I know I rock at singing.

Here are the lyrics:

 

Kiss today goodbye, the sweetness and the sorrow.

Wish me luck, the same to you.

But I can’t regret what I did for love, what I did for love.

Look my eyes are dry, the gift was ours to borrow.

It’s as if we always knew.

And I won’t forget what I did for love, what I did for love.

Gone, Love is never gone.

As we travel on, love’s what we’ll remember.

Kiss today goodbye, and point me toward tomorrow.

We did what we had to do.

Won’t forget, can’t regret what I did for love, what I did for love. What I did did for love…

Love is never gone.

As we travel on, love’s what we’ll remember.

Kiss today goodbye, and point me toward tomorrow.

We did what we had to do.

Won’t forget, Can’t regret what I did for love, what I did for love.

 

What I did for love.